What to read after It Ends With Us

Colleen Hoover is currently taking the book world by storm, and her most popular novel yet has to be the devastating It Ends With Us, the tear-jerking story of Lily, Ryle and Atlas that has everyone talking. 

If you can’t get enough of Hoover’s romance, or her tragedy, then we recommend you give these titles a read:

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

TheSevenHusbandsofEvelynHugo

If you feel like you didn’t cry enough after It Ends With Us and are looking for another book to emotionally devastate you, why not try book-tok favourite, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid?

When relatively unknown journalist Monique is personal requested by Evelyn Hugo – one of the biggest names in Old Hollywood – to conduct an exclusive interview detailing her life, no one is more surprised than Monique herself. Currently down on her luck, Monique believes this to be the perfect way to kickstart her career, but swiftly realises that Evelyn is a force to be reckoned with, and that her story will be told on her terms. Monique is swept up Evelyn’s past, from her arrival in Hollywood in the 1950s to her mysterious disappearance from showbusiness in the 1980s. And of course, the seven husbands – some good, some bad – who accompanied her along the way. But as Evelyn bares her life to Monique – the glamour, the friendship, the betrayal and one great, forbidden love, Monique starts to suspect that there is a reason she was chosen by Evelyn after all, that the two women’s lives are entwined in ways she could never have guessed. 

There is a reason that Evelyn Hugo has become an absolute sensation in the bookish corners of the internet, and 

The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

TheLoveHypothesis

If you enjoyed the romance and the *ahem* spicier elements of It Ends With Us, but are looking for something lighter, then we would definitely recommend The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood. 

Third year PhD student Olive has no time for romantic relationships and doesn’t believe they can last. But when she realises her best friend Anh is holding back in her own love life because of her, she knows she must convince her that she is happily dating. The problem is, she isn’t. Panicking, Olive panics kisses the first man she sees. That first man only being the legendary Adam Carlsen – a brilliant young professor, and well-known ass. Shockingly, Adam agrees to Olive’s ‘fake-dating’ proposal, and the two manage to convince the outside world that they are a couple. But as Olive starts to suspect there may be more to Adam than she had thoughts, the lines between what’s real and what isn’t begins to blur, and now it is her own heart on the line. 

With all the joy and fun of a classic rom com, alongside a good helping of spice and a serious interrogation of the difficulties faced by women in STEM, this book deserves all the hype it has received. 

Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren

LoveAndOtherWords

If you are looking for another book which deals with the unexpected reappearance of past loves, then we would recommend Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren, for a heart-wrenching story of first romance and missed chances.

Macy has her life together: a steady, sensible job and a steady, sensible relationship. That is, until the reappearance of someone she thought she would never see again: Elliot Petropoulos, the first and only love of her life. But Macy and Elliot haven’t spoken for eleven years, not since the day he declared his feelings for her – and broke her heart just a few hours later. Can they both navigate the pain of the past – and the present – to find their way back to each other once more?

Split between two timelines – Then and Now – Love and Other Words details Macy and Elliot’s heart-wrenching story, from their first meeting as book-loving children to the moment it all went wrong. But is it too late to write themselves a new one?

Girl In Pieces by Katherine Glasgow

GirlInPieces

If you are looking for another deeply emotional read which explores dark themes, then why not try Girl in Pieces by Katherine Glasgow?

At seventeen, all Charlotte Davis wants is to block out the pain. The pain of her father, and what happened under that bridge. The pain of losing her best friend. The pain of the distance between her and her mother. The only thing that helps her to forget is cutting, letting the hurt wash away with the blood. But when Charlie’s medical insurance runs out, she is ejected from the treatment centre she has been living in, and now she is on her own. Set loose in the wild brightness of Arizona, can she begin to put herself back together?

Girl in Pieces is a challenging but necessary depiction of one girl’s struggle with mental illness, which is guaranteed to pull at your heart strings.